restless and chaotic
i watched the first season of the dragon show (spoilers abound)
House of the Dragon feels distinct from the disgraced legacy of the original series. I didn’t expect this show to succeed, and truly, when the first stills of episode 7 were put forth, I didn’t expect anyone else to think it would succeed either. I sneered, rolled my eyes, made my peace with how HBO and every other streaming service were grabbing bags of money and burning them in a pyre to recreate the high fantasy entertainment delusion.
Then the first episode came out in late August to above-average positive sentiment, and I largely ignored it. The episodes premiered every Sunday, and out of a stubborn, perverse curiosity, I’d roam the Sunday night commentary on Twitter. Just to see how poorly a follow-up adaptation could fare. I was vaguely familiar with characters who didn’t make sense to me, and had some recognition of the actors garnering acclaim for their performances. The moments the internet was reacting to and fixated on didn’t make sense in a vacuum. I’d see clips of it appear on my timeline, interests of my interests completing the closed loop. Here I am, having lived alongside the last stretch of the first season in another cultural moment of ours. I forgot how enthralling it is to follow watercooler television every weekend.
I think I’m mad about how much I enjoyed this. As if it had no right to be as compelling as it was. They did time jumps and recast two leading actors and shrunk the political subterfuge down to a single family, yet they still pulled it off. The joke is on me, I get it; they really did it.
